1-Sep-2016 11:32 AM

US DoT finalises selection of US carriers to offer Havana service

US Department of Transportation (DOT) finalised (31-Aug-2016) its selection of eight US carriers to begin scheduled service to Havana, with services to begin as early as autumn 2016. US Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx also arrived in Cuba on 31-Aug-2016, marking the first scheduled service between the two countries in over 50 years. Carriers receiving the Havana awards include Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Frontier Airlines, JetBlue Airways, Southwest Airlines, Spirit Airlines, and United Airlines. The carriers will provide service to Havana from Atlanta, Charlotte, Fort Lauderdale, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, Newark, New York City, Orlando, and TampaDoT's "principal objective" in making its selections was to maximise public benefits, choosing carriers that offered and could maintain the "best service" between the US and Havana. DoT’s decision allocates Havana service to areas with substantial Cuban-American populations, as well as to several aviation hub cities. [more - original PR]

Want More News Like This?

CAPA Membership provides access to all news and analysis on the site, along with access to many areas of our comprehensive databases and toolsets.
Find Out More