31-Mar-2010 8:14 AM

EU updates the list of airlines banned from the European airspace

European Commission adopted (30-Mar-2010) the 13th update EU aviation blacklist, updating the list to include all air carriers in Sudan and the Philippines, on the basis of safety assessments by ICAO. Restrictions placed on Air Koryo from the Democratic People's Republic of Korea and TAAG from Angola are partially lifted under certain conditions, while the operations of Iran Air will be restricted. [more - European Commission] [more - Question and Answer list]

European Commission:We are ready to support countries that need to build up technical and administrative capacity to guarantee the necessary standards in civil aviation. But we cannot accept that airlines fly into the EU if they do not fully comply with international safety standards,” Siim Kallas, Transport Commissioner. Source: European Commission, 30-Mar-2010.

Want More News Like This?

CAPA Membership gives you access to all news and analysis on the site, along with access to many areas of our comprehensive databases and toolsets.
Find Out More