17-Aug-2009 9:09 AM

ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area announced

Australian and New Zealand governments announced (14-Aug-09) they have agreed to the establishment of a ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area, to become effective 01-Jan-2010. The two governments also plan to announce new measures to simplify travel between Australia and New Zealand on 20-Aug-09, reportedly to potentially include the removal of departure taxes and the duplication of customs, quarantine and security checks, and allowing aircraft to utilise domestic terminals (Sydney Morning Herald, 16-Aug-09). Jetstar stated the move could reduce trans-Tasman fares by up to 30%. [more]