17-May-2010 8:24 AM

London airports expected to be closed Monday morning

NATS UK reports (16-May-2010) London Heathrow, Gatwick, Farnborough, London City, Shoreham and Biggin Hill airports and all airfields in Northern Ireland, Scotland's Western Isles, Oban, Campbeltown, Caernarfon and Aberdeen are expected to be within the no-fly zone as imposed by the UK Civil Aviation Authority between 01:00 and 07:00 on 17-May-2010. The high-density ash cloud continues to move south. [more] The UK Department for Transport cautioned that high-density volcanic ash concentrations could remain in UK airspace until 18-May-2010 (AFP, 16-May-2010). Additional traffic disruptions are forecast. The ash cloud is expected to change shape and move further south.

Want More News Like This?

CAPA Membership gives you access to all news and analysis on the site, along with access to many areas of our comprehensive databases and toolsets.
Find Out More