22-Nov-2011 8:49 AM

European Commission updates EU airline operating bans

European Commission adopted (21-Nov-2011) the 18th update of the list of airlines banned in the EU. The updated European list includes all carriers certified in 21 States, accounting for 273 known air carriers, whose operations are fully banned in the European Union, four individual carriers and 11 carriers which are allowed to operate into the EU under strict restrictions and subject to conditions. The EU blacklist now includes air carriers which have been certified by the aviation authorities of the Republic of the Congo (Equatorial Congo), of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Stellar Airways) and of the Philippines (Aeromajestic and Interisland Airlines) not having received the necessary documented evidence that these carriers comply with international safety standards. Other highlights include:

  • Cooperation with Albania and Russia has led both countries to adopt strong measures in order to control and contain any risks to safety of their air carriers flying into the EU. Therefore, no measures were necessary by the Commission vis-à-vis air carriers licensed in Albania or in the Russian Federation;
  • TAAG Angolan Airlines is allowed to add two aircraft (B777-300s) to those operating into the EU, following further improvements in the safety performance of the airline;
  • Jordan Aviation received operating restrictions to exclude three B767s of the carrier's fleet, in view of numerous and repeated safety deficiencies;
  • Rollins Air, certified in Honduras, was banned from European airspace pending the resolution of various significant safety issues that were first raised by France. [more - original PR]

Want More News Like This?

CAPA Membership gives you access to all news and analysis on the site, along with access to many areas of our comprehensive databases and toolsets.
Find Out More