24-Dec-2009 11:06 AM

Asean Transport Ministers called for signing of Asean Multilateral Agreement

Asean Transport Ministers called for the signing of a new Asean Multilateral Agreement on the Full Liberalisation of Passenger Services in 2010, to expand the scope of the existing Asean Multilateral Agreement on Air Services to include destinations not currently listed (The Star Online, 23-Dec-2009). Meanwhile, Malaysia's Transport Ministry stated the country has benefited from the Asean liberalisation, as it has increased business activity (The Star Online, 23-Dec-2009). The country recently signed a new bilateral air services agreement with Singapore, providing access to 18 points in Malaysia, including Alor Setar, Bintulu, Ipoh, Kerteh, Kota Baru, Kota Kinabalu, Kuala Terengganu, Kuantan, Kuching,  Labuan, Langkawi, Malacca, Miri, Penang, Sandakan, Sibu, Subang and Tawau.

Want More News Like This?

CAPA Membership provides access to all news and analysis on the site, along with access to many areas of our comprehensive databases and toolsets.
Find Out More